From the Director General's desk

The Historical Signing of the MSG Agreement By Melanesian Government Leaders in On 14 March 1988, Vanuatu, Fiji,Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands,Vanuatu and the FLNKS

The Melanesian Spearhead Group (MSG) came into being as a result of an information meeting held at Goroka, Papua New Guinea on July 17 1986,
by the Heads of Government of Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and the FLNKS.

On 14 March 1988, Papua New Guinea's Prime Minister, Paias Wingti, Solomon Islands Prime Minister, Ezekiel Alebua and Vanuatu's Prime Minister, Walter Lini signed the six (6) point " Agreed Principles of Cooperation Among the Independent States in Melanesia".